Being transformed!

I’m reading a lovely, but difficult little book called 12 Truth That Will Change Your Marriage by Nina Roesner.  In the chapter on submission, she speaks about all that she did to look like an authentic Christian and why that failed.  You see, you can’t look like a Christian.  You have to actually BE one.

And it is hard.

You can have your check list of things you need to: give to the poor, be kind, be loving, don’t swear, don’t drink, etc, etc, etc…

But, it doesn’t mean much unless change comes from the heart.  All too often, you see people lose a lot of weight.  Only to put it all back on again, because their hearts have not changed.  They have not changed their relationship to food or how they interact with food.  True weight loss – and I believe this with all my heart – can only come when we change our relationships with food.

If we don’t do that – we will always battle with food.  And that change can only come through Christ.  Only He can truly change who we are – through grace, love and redemption.  While we, on our own, can have a certain amount of effectiveness in encouraging change, with true change comes from God.  True, long-lasting, effective change…

So, it is my prayer for God to come into my heart and to teach me to relate to food and eating in healthy, God-honouring ways; to take the fear and anxiety out of my heart and replace it with peace and love – to change this heart of mind from a “I can’t” to a “I can through Jesus Christ”; to teach me how to submit and respect my husband.

That is my prayer!

Leave a Reply

