Still stepping…

… one foot in front of the other – one step at a time.  Sometimes two steps back, and one forward, but at least – I think – I am facing in the right direction.  Having come from a background of being naturally skinny, and never needing to really go on a diet, I had no idea it would be so difficult to lose weight.  But, the difficulty isn’t so much in dieting – we all know what we should do to lose weight, be healthy and be fit, i.e. focus on what you eat, focus on how much you eat, make sure you exercise.

The difficulty comes in actually doing it.

And that is where changing one’s thinking comes into play.  When you start to think differently, the theory is that you will start to act differently, thereby achieving your desired result.  However, the converse is also true, when you start to act differently – very often your actions cause you to think differently – thereby also achieving your desired result.  In other words, actions needs to accompany thoughts, and vice versa.

And yet, losing weight, maintaining that weight loss and not being paranoid about it isn’t easy.

It’s very, very difficult to do.

And sometimes, when I want to run ahead or I’m getting frustrated that this is taking so long, I remember that when I started running, it took a while before I could run 5km without having to stop to take a breathe…

It takes time!

Rome was not built in a day!

As frustrating as it is, the only thing I can keep doing is to continue working on my actions and my thoughts and almost forget about the results – until the day I do start seeing the results.

Does any of this make sense?
Leave a Reply

