Eating the table!

I know I may sound like an idiot, but I honestly don’t know what to do when I get so hungry.  Like today, for example…  I am so hungry, I could put a little bit of butter on the table, a dash of salt, and eat the frigging table!!!

Is this normal?

I have no idea.  All I know is that before I fell pregnant, and grabbed hold of the opportunity of gaining weight with every fibre of my being, I never felt hunger like this.

Never...

In fact, I used to eat probably one full meal a day, with snacking in between and was quite happy…  And satisfied.  Now I’m eating three full meals a day, plus snacking in-between, and I am always hungry.  Always…  It drives me nuts, and is still quite an adjustment to me, considering that for 36 years I ate one way, and now for the last 8 years I’m eating completely differently…  And battling with it!

Last week, we discussed using Visualization techniques and I really do believe in this, but it’s no quick fix.  I read a while ago of a woman who lost a tremendous amount of weight.  And she did it – according to her – purely through visualization.  She said – according to the article I was reading – that she would sit every day, and every moment of every day, and think about what she would look like, be like and act like if she lost a lot of weight.  One of the ways this helped her was that every time she went to the fridge for a snack, she wouldn’t take anything, because a skinny person doesn’t snack all the time.

She thought like a skinny person and believed she was a skinny person – until she actually became one.

And I’m all fine with that, except I get so hungry that skinny chick be damned.

Not helping my cause much, is it?

Anyway, so I am going to sit for a few minutes every day – even if I have to do this at work – and visualize what it is I want to accomplish:

  • Being peaceful
  • Being calm
  • Eating less
  • Exercising more

Sit and actually see it in my mind’s eye – feel the emotions that go with it, figure out the actions, and change the actual DNA in my brain.

The reason why I know visualization works so well, is because for 36 years before I fell pregnant I had complete anxiety that I was too skinny, and couldn’t wait to gain weight.  I realise now just how stupid that thinking was, but it set the stage for what I am now battling with.  I would give my eye teeth to go back to how I used to eat before falling pregnant – in moderation and when I was hungry.

So, now I need to set a new stage…

Who’s with me?

Leave a Reply

