The Pendulum Theory!

This is a post I wrote for the Baby Mama’s Blog in 2013.  And rereading it, I think it is especially pertinent to weight loss, getting fit and eating healthy.  I am re-posting here as well.

Figure two (b) Equatorial pendulum with latitu...
Figure two (b) Equatorial pendulum with latitudinal swing (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My pendulum theory

This is a theory that I have had since before hubby and I met.  In fact, I distinctly recall “coining” this in my mid-teens and I still wholeheartedly believe this theory to be true and accurate.  Especially since I have now started to read about this theory in books and on blogs – promise you, I was there first:-).

Anyway, the pendulum theory is quite simple – today I hate Justin Bieber, tomorrow I love him.  You see, the pendulum has swung.  Okay, not so simple or as clear-cut, but let’s try this for an example – today I am poor, tomorrow I win the lotto and I am rich.  The pendulum has swung.  Or for the last six weekends, we had functions and activities planned for every weekend, but thereafter nothing.  You see the pendulum has swung – weekends filled with lots of activity, then nothing for months.  And it will swing back again.

And so it is in life.

You see, hubby and I have always battled financially and I believe the pendulum will swing in our favour eventually.  And I believe the reason why the pendulum swings is what you sow into your life.  For some people, they may never experience the pendulum swinging in big ways, because they do not sow into their own life in a big way.  Let me give you an example, Mr Joe Bloggs goes through the same cycles of life that we all do.  For a couple of months he is so busy, he can barely keep up with all the social functions he needs to attend.  Then for the next couple of months, he has nothing to do.  And this is all well and fine – a natural cycle of life, but what Mr Joe Bloggs needs the pendulum to swing for in a big way is to combat alcoholism.  You see, Mr Joe Bloggs loves to drink.  And drink.  When he gets home from work, the first thing he does is to have a whiskey.  Or two.  Or three.  And Mr Joe Bloggs doesn’t care.  He doesn’t care that he is a raging alcoholic and doesn’t see why he needs to stop.  So, the pendulum is hanging in favour of alcohol, but will never swing back the other way, because Mr Joe Bloggs doesn’t want it to.

To read the rest of the post – click here.

Leave a Reply

