Giving up Sugar… and trying to be an Athlete!

This is not easy…

All I’ve done is give up sweets & chocolates…  And on Saturday I did a new Parkrun (which was very, very tough) and I craved simply everything sugary and sweet in sight.  I mean, I even drank a Fanta Grape and I never, ever drink fizzy cool drinks.  But, the craving was so strong, I actually – quite simply – could not help myself.

Then I had milk.

Then I had a smoothie from Kauai.
Then I had some more Fanta Grape.

Clearly, after running my body is needing something.  But, I have no idea what that something is or what I can give my body that isn’t sugary and sweet and completely unhealthy for you.  After the craving subsided, I have been fine since…

I need to come up with an action plan that I can actually stick to, but I think the one thing that I try to remind myself to do is to list the reasons of why I actually want to lose weight:

  1. I want to lose weight to get back to my true self – before negative thinking and destructive self talk took over.
  2. I want to lose weight to be fit, slim, trim and healthy.
  3. I want to lose weight to run faster and better.
  4. I want to lose weight because I want to look like an athlete – not a wobbly, middle-aged mom wannabe…
  5. I want to lose weight because I want to give my husband who he married -a slender, healthy wife.
  6. I want to lose weight because I don’t want my life to revolve around food, and eating at every opportunity – that’s not how I want to live my life.
  7. I want to lose weight because I don’t want to live my live succumbing to cravings that I seem unable to control.
  8. I want to lose weight to give glory to God for my victory over negative thinking, and destructive self-talk.
  9. I want to lose weight to give my daughter a healthy concept of what it means to be a woman.
  10. I want to lose weight to prove to myself that I can do this…

There we go – 10 reasons to remind myself of why I am doing this whenever the cravings or the anxiety hit…  10 good and solid reasons for wanting to lose weight.  Let’s hope and pray that I can now make this happen.

One thought on “Giving up Sugar… and trying to be an Athlete!

Leave a Reply

