When I am hungry…

What steps did I take today to move towards my goals?

Well, I am watching what I am eating today.  Even though I am so flippin’ hungry I could very well start gnawing my desk – just give me some salt and some butter…  Okay, I’m kidding.  But, I am really hungry and I’ve had breakfast, I’ve had lunch, so I just need to hang in there until dinner time.

Philippians 4:11-13 NIV

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.   I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Notice how Paul says he has learnt to be content even when hungry?  I can’t do this – not yet anyway.  When I get hungry, I want to eat and I want to eat now!  But, I do know that if Paul can learn to be content when hungry, then so can I.  I know when and where my next meal is coming from – he didn’t.  So, he had a greater reason to feel anxious than what I do, yet he was content.  This is what I am focusing on today – to be content even when I am so hungry that my cellphone is hiding less I eat it.

This is a step towards my goal.

P.S.  I have also joined Boot Camp.  I am so nervous – that is completely beyond my comfort zone.  It only start on the 13th October, but I have signed up.  Wow!

Leave a Reply

